Tired of work!?!?!?

I know we all say it…  I’m sick and tired of working, I wish I could get paid to sit on a beach, etc.  I was whining in my head this morning because I feel like the walking dead.  I’m exhausted as always and some days it’s harder to stay awake than others.  I do realize that I whine and complain a LOT and that’s annoying in itself.  But back to the subject at hand, I’ve been at the phone company for 20 years.  I’ve worked various other jobs through out this time frame.  I’m only 43 years old.

The point? Well, why is it that most people (at large) and as I recently realized that most people these days don’t work? My aunt retired from the Navy after 25 years and in her 40’s and she refuses to work at anything else.  My friend has back issues and refuses to work even though she runs a lucrative eBay business from home.  Her husband is a self employed handy man, but overall doesn’t work much.  My cousin sued the company she worked for and now no longer works, unless you count volunteering at a local thrift store.  My friends husband refuses to keep a job.  He works for a while and then either gets fired or quits.   Then sits unemployed for a few weeks or months before getting another temp job.

I could go on but why bother? Most of these folks always have money problems.  One thing that bothers me is why do I have to defend having money, when both my husband and I work full time? Why do I have to be treated like a 2nd class citizen because I don’t have the freedom to do what I want when I want?   Basically what I am saying is I’m tired because I work all the time, plus fitting all the rest of life in the time remaining.  I’m tired of everyone around me NOT working and treating me badly because I can’t give you what you want because I have to go to work.  I’m also tired of defending my ability to pay my bills.  Also for the record I’m not rolling in the dough.  If I want something I still have to save for it, I still have a budget to follow and I still coupon what I can to within an inch of it’s life to afford it.  In other words I work for what I have and I’m “tired” of having to pay for that (pun intended).

I’m working on trying to change things this year… Not a resolution per se, although it being this time of year that’s what it appears to be, but it’s not.  I’m just trying to improve things.  I just wish that others would do the same or at the least not punish me for the work I do for myself.

Leave a Reply

